The National Institute for Excellence in Professional Education

About the CSEP/CSRP Designations

In the complicated fields of estate and retirement planning, clients need the guidance of a qualified specialist to lead them through a tangle of complex regulations and analyze and implement valuable planning strategies. Since 1999, two professional designations have given financial professionals the tools and practical knowledge they need to be leaders in these fields, and helped their clients to maximize their financial potential:

  • Certified Specialist in Estate Planning® (CSEP)
  • Certified Specialist in Retirement Planning® (CSRP)

CSEP and CSRP designation holders have met stringent requirements for attaining and holding these designations. These requirements include the completion of a curriculum of core and elective courses, attainment of a passing grade on a rigorous exam for each course, meeting requirements of education and experience, and adhering to a code of ethics. After completing a program, designation holders are required to meet annual continuing education requirements.

Renewal Requirements for Designation Holders

New renewal requirements for the CSEP/CSRP designation programs, effective as of December 2016:

  • Payment of a renewal fee is no longer required.
  • Completion of 8 hours of continuing education in estate or retirement planning every calendar year is mandatory; however, reporting is no longer required. Random audits of continuing education credits will be conducted each spring, so please maintain records on the courses you completed.

If you have any questions, please email

Take an Exam

Our exam portal is currently under construction. If you are an enrollee wishing to take a test, please email

Looking for a CSEP/CSRP?

Please email to confirm a designation holder or to find a CSEP/CSRP in your area.

National Institute for Excellence in Professional Education (NIEPE)
237 Lancaster Avenue
Devon, PA 19333
Surgent CPE